The Free Cuppa for the Driver scheme is an incentive program to combat driver fatigue. Driver fatigue is one of the 3 big killers on NSW roads. 

The Free Cuppa for the Driver scheme encourages drivers to stop and take a break at participating businesses while travelling in Western and South Western NSW.

Local participating businesses in the scheme donate a free tea or coffee to a driver that has driven 100 kilometres from their home postcode as indicated on their current driver’s licence.

Each participating business is identified by the Free Cuppa for the Driver logo on the front door or window of the business


  • Local Businesses that sell tea or coffee are invited to register their participation in the scheme.
  • The Local Government Road Safety Program in NSW market and administer the scheme.
  • Businesses provide the free cuppas.
  • Visiting drivers who have travelled at least 100 kms are eligible for a free cuppa by showing their driver’s licence at any local participating business.
  • Participants are encouraged to enter a prize-draw by answering a driver fatigue question in-store.
  • Businesses are invited to provide their feedback about their experience at the end of the scheme.

Free cuppa scheme and prize draw


The project will commence on Wednesday, 1 March and will conclude on Wednesday, 31 May 2017.

To be eligible for a free cup of coffee or tea, drivers will need to produce their driver’s licence for staff at participating businesses to show they do not reside in one of the excluded towns (as outlined in the brochure, apps or on our website).

Only one cup of coffee or tea will be provided per vehicle, per day, per town.

Customers who utilise the free cuppa scheme will be issued with an entry for the prize draw.  This needs to be validated by the participating business.  Customers are required to correctly answer a question about managing driver fatigue and provide their contact details.

The prize draw will take place on Thursday, 15 June 2017 at 10:00am at the Leeton Visitor Centre, 10 Yanco Avenue, Leeton NSW 2705.

The first entry drawn out of the barrel that is validated and correct will be awarded the prize and fuel vouchers to the total value of $600.

The winner will be notified by phone following the prize draw.  The winner will be announced to the public via local media coverage across the 22 participating council areas.  The winner’s name will also be on display on the noticeboard at each of the councils’ Administration Centres for two weeks following the prize draw.

The promoter is Balranald, Bathurst, Berrigan, Bland, Blayney, Cabonne, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Dubbo Regional, Forbes, Gilgandra, Hay, Lachlan, Leeton, Moree Plains, Murrumbidgee, Narrabri, Narrandera, Orange, Parkes, Wagga Wagga, Warrumbungle and Wentworth Shire Councils.